john esposito

About Sunjump Records

Sunjump Records was created in 1986 by John Esposito to produce the music of the cooperative band Second Sight. The compositions played by the band were primarily John’s, with contributions by Jeff Marx and Dave Douglas. Promotion for the band and the label was handled by the indefatigable and unforgettable Lloyd Paioff aka Little Elliot Lloyd, Blues shouter and guitarist extraordinaire.

The first release in 1986 was Second Sight Flying With The Comet. There were two more releases in 1988: Jose Chalas Living on Avenue F and Marc Wagnon Shadowlines. The records were done as audiophile quality Direct Metal pressings on Teldec vinyl which was a technology intended to create the clean, accurate sound production of digital recording without losing the warmth associated with vinyl.

Other musicians associated with and promoted by Sunjump and Lloyd Paioff were Santi DeBriano, Marilyn Crispell , Matt Shipp and Rob Brown. Sunjump folded as an active enterprise in 1989. Lloyd continued to do artist promotion through his own Larkin Productions and worked for several record labels in NYC until his death in 1993.

Sunjump was revived in 2006. John Esposito is the executive producer. The label features John’s new work; collaborative projects with guitarist Sangeeta Michael Berardi, saxophonist Mitch Kessler, flutist Jayna Nelson, pianist/composer Bob Murad, and a trio with saxophonist Jeff Marx and drummer Jeff Siegel.

Sunjump is also dedicated to the release of previously unavailable archival recordings. John is pleased to have an ongoing working relationship with Scott Petito and NRS Recording Studio, Catskill. NY.

John Esposito's Sunjump label has a catalogue of fifteen cds.

Currently Available are:
2006 - John Esposito - Down Blue Marlin Road
2006 - John Esposito - The Blue People
2008 - Second Sight - Flying With The Comet
2008 - Sangeeta - Earthship
2008 - John Esposito - A Book Of Five Rings
2009 - Steve Geraci - Aliqae Song
2009 - Mitch Kessler - Erratica
2009 - Marx/Siegel/Esposito - Inyo
2010 - Jayna Nelson - Bloom Of Creation
2010 - John Esposito - Orisha
2011 - Mitch Kessler - Der Erlkönig
2012 - Sangeeta Michael Berardi - Calling Coltrane
2012 - Marx/Siegel/Esposito - Tahrir
2013 - Sangeeta Michael Berardi - The Mr P Sessions
2015 - Bob Murad - The Observer
2017 - John Esposito Quintet - Lyra
2017 - John Esposito & Second Sight - Tiger Tracks
2017 - Sangeeta Michael Berardi: Music Is Love:
         The Manhattan Sessions
2017 - Sangeeta Michael Berardi: Divine Song

Also available are the following vintage Direct Metal Pressing records on Teldec vinyl from the original stock made in 1987:
1986 - Second Sight - Flying With The Comet
1987 - Jose Chalas - Living On Avenue F
1987 - Marc Wagnon - Shadowlines

The above three vinyl titles can be ordered directly from Sunjump Records by emailing

Upcoming releases of new music include an expanded multimedia version of John Esposito's A Book Of Five Rings ensemble and CDs by Jeff Marx and Arthur Rhames.

Footage of Sangeeta's Mr P Sessions record date appears in film maker Burill Crohn's documentary on guitarist Sangeeta Michael Berardi's life and work as a painter/poet/musician, Playing With Parkinson's.